A must-read romantic young adult romantic fantasy novel in 2022: The Sunken City by Emma V. R. Noyes

Emma V. R. Noyes, author of The Sunken City, delivers an atmospheric young adult fantasy with adventure, depth, and lush worldbuilding in her debut novel. Hailed by New York Times best-selling author Kathryn Lasky as “un-put-downable,” this first installment of The Sunken City trilogy is an explosive beginning to a captivating journey.

The Sunken City follows orphan Amare Bellamy, a pirate raised on a ship by some of the most dangerous men in the Caribbean. As a pirate, she’s been taught to hate magic, but when she falls overboard during a terrible storm, Amare discovers an enchanted underwater kingdom. The King, by whose word magic is strictly outlawed, claims to be her true father and places her into the role of Princess of the Sunken City. Trapped between two worlds and the love of two brothers, Amare finds herself questioning everything she was raised to believe as she braces to fight an evil brewing at the bottom of the ocean.

Perfect for fans of Tricia Levenseller’s Daughter of the Pirate King and the expansive universes of Holly Black, The Sunken City features morally complex characters and a strong female lead who grapples with her place in two drastically different societies. The romance is layered, contrasting Amare’s choices in love with her internal perceptions of self.

The Sunken City released to high praise and glowing reviews. Describing Noyes as “an exceptional storyteller,” readers of all ages celebrate this first installment as a standout work that will “make you remember your own magic.”

With themes of self-acceptance and overcoming trauma, The Sunken City contains important lessons wrapped in the context of an engaging, exciting story that will resonate with teenage readers. Far from being preachy, Noyes creates a relatable setting and flawed cast that provides the audience with a safe space to engage with matters of self-love, mental health, and inner strength.

The Sunken City is available for purchase on Amazon.com or wherever books are sold. Sequels are currently in development.

Emma V. R. Noyes is the author of The Sunken City and Half the Lemon: A Novella. She grew up in a suburb outside Chicago and attended Harvard University, where she received a degree in History & Literature. She now lives in Los Angeles. You can find her at www.emmavrnoyes.com or on TikTok and Instagram at @emmanoyesmaybe.

Media Contact
Company Name: Dabb Media
Contact Person: Charlotte Simmons
Email: Send Email
Country: United States
Website: https://dabb.media


Posted

in

by

Tags: